Although anyone can file a claim for Nebraska unemployment benefits, the Nebraska Department of Labor approves only the claims of those who meet the eligibility requirements. The eligibility requirements are determined by state law and ensure that unemployment insurance funds go only to those whom the law intends. When you apply for benefits, the agency reviews the information you submit against the eligibility guidelines, including availability to work and previous earned wages.
You must be unemployed to collect benefits in Nebraska. The unemployment can be either total or partial. Total unemployment, which is when you have no work and no income, is the most common type. You can also be partially unemployed if you work less than 40 hours per week and earn less the amount you're eligible to receive weekly on unemployment benefits. Your unemployment must also be through no fault of your own. If you quit your job, you must have just cause. If you were let go by your employer, it can't be for cause, such as misconduct or insubordination.
Able to Work
Only claimants who are physically able to work at least four days a week can receive unemployment benefits. Being partially disabled or handicapped does not necessarily disqualify you from benefits. You just have to be able to reasonably perform work you're qualified to do or be able to adapt to new work. When you file your weekly claims certification with the Nebraska Department of Labor, you must verify that you were able to perform work.
Available to Work
Nebraska unemployment benefits also require you to be immediately available to work at least four days a week. Previous commitments such as school, child care or medical appointments cannot interfere with your ability to accept reasonable work offers. Each week when you certify for benefits, you must verify that you were available to accept work.
The Nebraska Department of Labor requires you to have earned enough insured wages during your base period to collect unemployment. Insured wages are those you earned from employer who paid into the unemployment insurance fund based on your salary. Your base period is the first four of the last five full calendar quarters before you filed for unemployment benefits. You must have earned at least $2,781 in insured wages in your base period to collect benefits. Two separate quarters must have $800 each in them as well.
Can You Claim Nebraska Unemployment If You Quit?
Unemployment insurance provides a temporary source of income to workers who lose their jobs so that they can support themselves while searching...
Nebraska Unemployment Benefits: How Much Will I Receive?
Unemployment benefits help those who are out of work pay for living expenses while searching for new employment. The Nebraska Department of...
Weekly Unemployment Certification in Georgia
Georgia unemployment benefits start with an initial claim but the catalyst for each payment is the weekly claims certification. This is how...