Can You Block People From Seeing Your Wall on Facebook?

Can You Block People From Seeing Your Wall on Facebook? thumbnail
Use Facebook's privacy settings to "hide" your wall.

Inappropriate comments, foul language and inside jokes can be seen on the pages of some Facebook users. What may be funny to some can be offensive to others. There is often a notable difference between the interaction that occurs among friends and that which takes place between family members, co-workers and acquaintances. To protect the integrity of its users, Facebook's privacy settings control the visibility of wall content. You can protect the privacy of your wall in a few quick steps.

  1. Protecting Your Posts

    • Protect the privacy of your wall posts by choosing the "Account" drop-down menu located in the top right corner of your page. Choose the option for "Privacy Settings" and locate the "Sharing On Facebook" section. Click "Customize Settings" and locate the section, "Things I Share," which will allow you to click on "Posts By Me." Choose an option to make your wall visible to "Everyone," "Friends of Friends," "Friends Only" or "Customize," which will allow you to restrict your wall access to people on an individual basis. Type in the names of people you wish to block and click "Save Settings."

    Protecting Your Friends' Posts

    • Protect the privacy of content that is posted to your wall by friends by choosing the "Account" drop-down menu located in the top right corner of your page. Choose the option for "Privacy Settings" and locate the "Sharing On Facebook" section. Click "Customize Settings" and locate the section, "Things Others Share," which will allow you to click on "Can See Wall Posts By Friends." Choose an option to make your wall visible to "Everyone," "Friends of Friends," "Friends Only" or "Customize," which will allow you to restrict your wall access to people on an individual basis. Type in the names of people you wish to block and click "Save Settings."

    Blocking Facebook Users

    • Protect the visibility of your entire Facebook account, which will prevent individual users from searching for you, requesting to add you as a friend and viewing any of your pages. Click on the "Account" drop-down menu in the top right corner of your page. Choose "Privacy Settings" and locate the "Block Lists" section on the bottom of the page. Click on "Edit Your Lists" and enter the names or email addresses of users you wish to block. Click "Block This User."

    Additional Things to Consider

    • If you find it necessary to protect the privacy of your wall, it might be wise to consider restricting the visibility of some of your other pages as well. Simply restricting access to your wall does not safeguard the privacy of your photos, personal information and other content you share on Facebook. It is possible to customize your privacy settings and allow certain elements to remain visible while others are hidden. Protect yourself with Facebook privacy controls.

Related Searches

References

Resources

  • Photo Credit Jupiterimages/Comstock/Getty Images

You May Also Like

Related Ads

Featured