What Are the 5 Smallest States by Population?

A census performs a systematic calculation of the number of residents in a geographical area. In some states, the population increases while others see a reduced smaller number of residents during periods of time. The five smallest states by population as of the 2010 U.S. Census are Wyoming, Vermont, North Dakota, Alaska and South Dakota.

  1. Wyoming

    • The U.S. Census Bureau of 2010 reported Wyoming as having the lowest population at 563,626 people. The land area for Wyoming is 97,100 square miles with a population density of 5.8 persons per square mile. Located in the Western United States, two-thirds of Wyoming is covered with mountain ranges in the foothills of the Eastern Rocky Mountains. The state has 23 counties, and the capital of the state is Cheyenne.


    • The State of Vermont is in the New England region of the northeastern United States. The second smallest state in the country by population, Vermont has an estimated population of 625,741, according to the 2010 Census. Vermont is bordered by New York to the west, the Canadian province of Quebec to the north, Massachusetts to the south and New Hampshire to the east.

    North Dakota

    • North Dakota has a population of 672,591, according to the 2010 U.S. Census. Located along the Canadian border, North Dakota is the third least populous state in the nation. The capital city is Bismarck, and the largest city in North Dakota is Fargo. When traveling to North Dakota, you may witness wildlife such as bighorn sheep, elk and moose. The land area is 68,976 square miles with a population density of 9.75 residents per square mile.


    • Alaska is the fourth least populated state in the United States. The state borders both the Pacific and Arctic Oceans. The state has a population of 710,231 and half of the residents live within the largest city of Anchorage. The capital city is Juneau, and Alaska is the largest state in the United States at 663,268 square miles. The highest point in Alaska is Mount McKinley, reaching more than 20,000 feet high.

    South Dakota

    • Home to a popular tourist attraction, Mount Rushmore, South Dakota is in the Midwestern Region of the United States. The state capital is Pierre, and the largest city is Sioux Falls. South Dakota has a population of 814,180, according to the 2010 U.S. Census. The state is bordered by Wyoming, Nebraska, Minnesota, Montana, Iowa and North Dakota.

Related Searches



You May Also Like

Related Ads

View Mobile Site