Adjusters interview witnesses, experts and the claimant to investigate an insurance claim. The adjuster plans the work associated with processing a claim, according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics. Claims adjusters make the decision to approve or deny a claim with the insurance company. When the adjuster denies a claim, he may gather information and evidence for the insurance company’s attorney to defend the position.
Professional organizations offer certification for claims adjusters. Some insurance companies also offer certification for claims adjusters working on the company’s claims. The process for certification through a insurance company program may include a course or workshop and successfully passing an examination. While the certification may not be necessary to work as an adjuster, it might enhance job opportunities. Some states require applicants for a claims adjuster license complete a professional certification before applying. For example, Florida allows claims adjusters with a professional credential such as the accredited claims adjuster, professional claims adjuster or the professional property insurance adjuster designation to be exempted from passing the state claims adjuster examination.
Education and Training
State licensing requirements for claims adjusters may include an education program, according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics. The education program for an insurance company certification includes information on processing claims to the company. The professional credentialing institution also requires candidates to complete a training program to qualify for the credential. For example, the accredited claims adjuster designation requires candidates complete a 40-hour course to qualify.
Candidates for a claims adjuster certification must pass an examination from the credentialing agency or the state. The examination tests the candidate’s knowledge on the claims adjustment process, ethics, insurance contracts and insurance law.
To maintain certification as a claims adjuster, the professional must complete continuing education courses. For example, Florida claims adjusters must complete 24 hours of continuing education to renew the state license. The claims adjuster in Florida must complete a minimum of two hours in ethics training and 10 hours in law courses; the remaining 12 hours are optional.