For a Georgia attorney to become a licensed real estate salesperson, he does not require any experience, but his legal experience may further his understanding of real estate transactions and contracts. According to the Georgia Real Estate Commission, most attorneys can bypass the educational requirements that most aspiring real estate agents require, but they still have to pass an exam and a criminal background check.
Georgia attorneys must complete one of three educational requirements set by the Georgia Real Estate Commission to receive their salesperson license. They must either complete a 75-hour course at an online or brick and mortar school approved by the commission, or they must have proof of 75 hours of coursework in another state or a province of Canada. Lawyers who completed six semester hours in real property or contract law in undergraduate studies or law school can bypass the course requirements, but they must provide a transcript of their grades and classes.
Georgia attorneys must complete an examination approved by the Georgia Real Estate Commission to prove their knowledge of contracts and property law. The examination costs $97 to take as of March 2011. To receive a license, individuals must submit an application for licensure to the commission within 12 months of passing the exam.
A Georgia attorney can pick up this license from the private AMP (Applied Measurement Professionals) testing organization the same day if he passes the exam. If a Georgia resident picks up his real estate salesperson license within three months of passing the exam, the application fee comes to $170 as of March 2011. Individuals who wait between three and 12 months after taking the exam to pick up their license must pay a fee of $340. According to the Georgia Real Estate Commission, a real estate salesperson license expires after four years.
When picking up her license, a Georgia attorney will have to submit a recent background check from a private party or a Georgia Crime Information Center Report obtained from her local sheriff’s office or police station. All applicants must have a reputation for honesty and trustworthiness according to Section 43-40-15 of the Georgia Code, the same standard that applies to licensed attorneys in the state. Attorneys who have a criminal conviction on their record or sanctions by the State Bar of Georgia can only pick up their license if they receive a waiver from the Georgia Real Estate Commission.
How Long Does it Take to Get a Real Estate License in Texas?
Obtaining your real estate salesperson license through the state of Texas involves many steps. Successful completion of license requirements can take up...
How to Become a Real Estate Agent in Georgia
The most significant step in the traditional path to becoming a Georgia real estate agent is a **75-hour prelicensing course**. After the...
How to Get A Real Estate License in Missouri
You might want to get a real estate license in Missouri if you are local to the area and would like to...