List of Foods With Low Gluten Content

Save

Ever wonder what makes pizza dough stretchy or thickens a sauce? Gluten is a protein found in wheat, rye, barley and other grains that gives bread, pasta and crackers their structure. Gluten is also used to make processed meats and as a thickening agent in soups and marinades. For people who suffer from Celiac disease or non-Celiac gluten sensitivity, gluten can cause serious pain when digested. A change in diet is necessary to eliminate or reduce gluten and feel better.

Foods to Avoid

  • When taking on a low-gluten or gluten-free diet, certain products should be avoided. Avoid foods made with wheat, barley, rye and spelt. This includes flours like wheat, graham, all-purpose, white, bran and durham. It also includes any foods made with those flours such as bread, pizza, pasta and cookies. Read labels carefully. Foods that contain the ingredients stabilizer, starch, flavoring, emulsifier, hydrolyzed or plant protein should also not be eaten.

Fruits and Vegetables

  • Fresh fruits and vegetables are naturally gluten free. Frozen, dried and canned fruits and vegetables are good gluten-free options, as is 100 percent fruit or vegetable juice. Avoid foods that contain fruit fillings, like pies or jellies, because they were likely made with thickening agents containing gluten. Also, steer clear of breaded vegetables and soups made with vegetables.

Dairy

  • Plenty of dairy choices are available in a gluten-free diet, but not all types of dairy make the cut. Choose whole, low-fat or skim milk, but check the ingredients on commercially made chocolate milk. American and aged cheeses like Parmesan, cheddar and Swiss are fine, but other cheeses are not. Certain kinds of sour cream and yogurt may be low or gluten free. Always check the label to be sure.

Grains

  • Not all grains are restricted on a gluten-free diet. Safe grains include millet, quinoa, amarenth, rice, buckwheat and arrowroot. Choose breads, pastas and baked goods made with these grains and ones that are labeled gluten free. Corn and corn meal are also gluten free, as are rice, soy, corn, potato and bean flours.

Meats

  • Beef, chicken, fish and seafood that is 100 percent natural and contains no fillers or wheat additives can be eaten on a gluten-free diet. Avoid meat products like sausage and bologna that are processed. When preparing meats, do not bread or coat with batter. Choose marinades that are gluten free and not made with thickeners.

Condiments and Snacks

  • Peanut butter, ketchup and relish are gluten-free condiments. Mustard, mayonnaise, salad dressings and tomato sauces may contain some gluten. For snacks, eat corn chips, ice cream, popcorn and pudding.

References

  • Photo Credit mango-fruits and citrus fruits image by Maria Brzostowska from Fotolia.com
Promoted By Zergnet

Resources

You May Also Like

  • List of Grains With Low GI

    Low glycemic foods require the body to release less insulin, a hormone supplied by the body to process excess sugar in the...

  • Low Protein Foods

    Considering the emphasis placed on protein's contribution to improved nutrition and health in today's society, a diet that emphasizes low-protein foods may...

  • Types of Bread That Are Not Carb Loaded

    Though bread is one of the main food items limited on low carbohydrate diets, it can be made or purchased in many...

  • List of Nickel Free Food

    Nickel allergy can cause persistent eczema and other types dermatitis, particularly on the hands and abdomen. Those who are sensitive to nickel,...

  • High-Fiber, Gluten-Free Food List

    If you have celiac disease or gluten sensitivity, omitting gluten from your diet is necessary for your health. While the diet may...

  • Foods With Gluten

    Identifying gluten in your food can be difficult but knowing what food to avoid can help. Learn how to identify foods with...

Related Searches

Check It Out

This Is the Beauty Routine of a Yelp Sales Manager

M
Is DIY in your DNA? Become part of our maker community.
Submit Your Work!