What Are the Different GPA Scales?


Grade Point Average (GPA) is most frequently reported on a 4.0 scale, especially at colleges. This is the number that colleges look at for admission requirements. It may be a bit confusing to understand how your GPA compares if your school does not use the 4.0 scale and uses one of the other popular scales.

Number Scale

  • The 4.0 number scale is the most universal. Colleges use it and many high schools do as well. The scale ranges from 0 to 4.0.


  • Other schools use a percent scale from 0 to 100 percent. When you consider applying for college and need to list your GPA or analyze whether your grades are good enough to apply to a specific school, you will need to convert your percent to an appropriate number on the 4.0 scale.


  • Another form of grading many high schools adopt is a letter based system, with grades from A to F. Each letter represents both a percentage and a number on the 4.0 scale. You will need to convert your letter to a 4.0 scaled number for college purposes.


  • The conversion scale used by the CollegeBoard is as follows

    A+ or 97 to 100 = 4.0

    A or 93 to 96 = 4.0

    A- or 90 to 92 = 3.7

    B+ or 87 to 89 = 3.3

    B or 83 to 86 = 3.0

    B- or 80 to 82 = 2.7

    C+ 77 to 79 = 2.3

    C or 73 to 76 = 2.0

    C- or 70 to 72 = 1.7

    D+ or 67 to 69 = 1.3

    D or 65 to 66 = 1.0

    F or below 65 = 0


Promoted By Zergnet


You May Also Like

Related Searches

Check It Out

Can You Take Advantage Of Student Loan Forgiveness?

Is DIY in your DNA? Become part of our maker community.
Submit Your Work!