Minnesota refers to a DUI as driving while impaired (DWI). It is against the law for a person to drive, operate or be in physical control of a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol, a controlled substance or a hazardous substance that has such an effect on the brain, nervous system or muscles that it impairs the person's ability to drive or operate a vehicle. A person is guilty of a DWI if his blood alcohol concentration is 0.08 or more.
A person is guilty of a first-degree offense when the person commits the offense within 10 years of the first of three or more previous DWI offenses, has been convicted of a DWI felony or has been convicted of the felony of vehicular homicide. A conviction of a first-degree DWI is a felony. The punishment includes a term of imprisonment for no more than seven years and a fine of no more than $14,000.
A person is guilty of a second-degree offense if it's the third impaired driving offense in 10 years, a second violation with a chemical test refusal or the presence of one aggravating factor, or a first violation and the presence of two aggravating factors. Aggravating factors include a previous impaired driving offense within 10 years (a conviction or a loss of license), a blood alcohol concentration of .20 or more, or driving while under the influence with a person age 16 or younger. A chemical examination tests a person's blood, breath or urine for intoxication. A second-degree DWI is a gross misdemeanor. The punishment is incarceration for at least 30 days but no more than one year, and a fine of up to $3,000.
A person is guilty of a third-degree driving offense if it's a second impaired offense within 10 years, a first offense and a test refusal, or the presence of one aggravating factor. A third-degree offense is a gross misdemeanor. A person is subject to a minimum punishment of 90 days in jail (not to exceed one year) and a fine of up to $3,000.
A person is guilty of a fourth-degree offense if it's a first impaired driving offense within 10 years without a chemical test refusal or an aggravating factor. A fourth-degree offense is a misdemeanor. The punishment is a sentence of up to 90 days in jail and a $1,000 fine.
What Is a 4th Degree Misdemeanor in Ohio?
Petty criminal offenses are called misdemeanors. There are several degrees depending on the severity of a crime. In Ohio, misdemeanors range from...
What Are the Punishments for Assault in the 3rd Degree?
Criminal laws fall under the jurisdiction of the state where the crime was committed and variances exist in legislation from state to...
What Type of Crimes Are Third-Degree Felonies?
Third-degree felonies include many types of crimes and depend on the state, circumstances of the crime and the offender's criminal history. Third-degree...
The Effects of a Gross Misdemeanor
A gross misdemeanor is the most serious type of misdemeanor, but is still a lesser offense than a felony. Examples of a...
What Are Georgia's Laws on Attempted Burglary?
What Are Georgia's Laws on Attempted Burglary?. A person can still be charged with a crime even if he does not complete...