McAfee anti-virus offers a full suite of security products designed to protect your computer from viruses, malware and Internet threats. McAfee anti-virus detects threats on both a realtime basis and every time you run a full virus scan. Whenever a threat is found, you are given the option to either delete the file, quarantine it or mark the file as trusted. Quarantining a file removes the possibility that it will infect other computers or spread to users on the same network.
Running a Virus Scan
Depending on the McAfee product you own, viruses and threats could be detected in real time as you browse the Web, download files or read your email, or you may need to run a virus scan to detect threats. In either case, when a threat is found, you'll be prompted with a message requesting an action. You can choose to delete, quarantine or mark the item as safe. If you are unsure whether the file is a threat or trusted, you can quarantine it to prevent it from causing harm.
Quarantining a File
Once you choose to quarantine a file the item is moved to an encrypted folder. This folder prevents the file, program or cookie from harming the computer or spreading to other users over the Internet or on the same network. Once an item is in quarantine, you can view the filename, file status, name of the threat and number of items it is affecting. If you determine the file is not a threat to your computer or others, you can mark the item as trusted and move it out of the quarantined folder and back to its place on your hard drive.
Deleting Quarantined Files
Quarantined items that are deemed to be a threat can be permanently removed from the quarantined folder and deleted from your computer. This applies to individual files, programs or website cookies. Once the threat has been deleted from the quarantined folder, it's not possible to recover it. Confirm the file you are deleting is a threat and was not quarantined by mistake. McAfee can sometimes detect an item as a threat incorrectly, moving harmless files into the quarantine folder. If a certain program requires that fileto run, it may not run correctly or at all until the file is reinstalled or repaired.
Once you mark an item as trusted, it will not be included in future virus scans or real time protection. If the item was marked as trusted by mistake, it will not be quarantined or removed from your computer. Review your trusted items list to ensure there are no threats included. If you find a threat or virus within your trusted items list, you can remove it from the list and run a virus scan to either delete the file or move it to your quarantine folder. If you are unsure whether or not a file should be trusted, conduct research online or contact McAfee customer support (see link in Resources).
- Photo Credit Jupiterimages/Photos.com/Getty Images