Morticians provide a wide range of funeral services, handling the remains of the deceased and helping grieving families cope. In Louisiana, morticians must be licensed embalmers trained in preserving human bodies and preparing them for burial or cremation. Established in 1914, the Louisiana State Board of Embalmers and Funeral Directors regulates this field and requires morticians to undergo training and testing in order to receive a license.
All morticians must complete at least 34 of coursework at an accredited college or university. This requirement may be substituted with a high school diploma and 15 months of study at an accredited mortuary science or funeral service school. The state also requires morticians to complete a one-year apprenticeship at a licensed funeral home in Louisiana.
After you complete your education and internship, you can apply to take the National Board Exam. The International Conference of Funeral Service Examining Boards, or ICFSEB, administer's the exam via Pearson Vue testing services. Pearson Vue provides phone as well as online registration and selection of a test-taking site on its website. You can also download practice exams and reschedule exams online. The exam tests areas such as funeral service law, merchandising, accounting, embalming, restorative art. It also tests your knowledge in microbiology, pathology, chemistry and anatomy.
The state board's application to become a license mortician is available online. Applicants must provide details of their educational history and submit transcripts. They must also list internships and if applying from another state, proof of a valid license recognized by ICFSEB from their former locale. All applicants must also submit a notarized recommendation from a community member attesting to the mortician's good moral character. As of 2011, the application fee for a license is $250.
Renewal and Continuing Education
Embalming licenses for morticians must be renewed each year no later than Dec. 31. Failure to renew results in automatic revocation of a license. In order to renew licenses, morticians must complete continuing-education classes approved by the state board. Continuing-education requirements may change, so morticians must stay abreast of requirements. Details are available on the state board's website along with a list of approved programs and courses.