Each employer in Maine can decide what constitutes a full-time or part-time employer. The laws from the United States Department of Labor do not have a clear standard on what is considered full-time and part-time. Before hiring, the employer must let you know the minimum and maximum number of hours you will work in any given time. The number of hours worked affects benefits and compensation requirements.
According to the U.S. Department of Labor, the Fair Labor Standards Act does not set a definition for full-time and part-time employment. Under the law, the status is left up to the employer. The law does state that if an employee works more than 40 hours per week, he is entitled to extra compensation. The minimum overtime rate is at least 1 1/2 times the regular pay rate.
In Maine, employers are not permitted to make employees work more than 80 hours of mandatory overtime in a two-week pay period. Emergency service personnel, salary employees and essential service employees are an exception to this rule. Nurses who have worked a 12-hour shift in Maine can refuse to work additional hours without consequences. A 10-hour shift break must be given after a 12-hour nursing shift.
Minors have restrictions on the number of hours they can work in Maine. During the school year, if you are under 16, you are only allowed to work a maximum of three hours on school days and eight hours on holidays and weekends. You are not allowed to work more than 18 hours weekly. During the summer, you are permitted to work up to eight hours daily with a maximum of 40 hours per week. If you are under 18, you are permitted to work 20 hours a week during the school year and 50 hours a week in the summer.
Unemployment benefits are available to both part-time and full-time employees in Maine. You are eligible to receive compensation under the program for up to 26 weeks if your hours are reduced or you are fired from a company. The amount of benefits received is based on your average number of hours and current pay rate.