If you built or purchased a home-made utility trailer in Florida, you must obtain a tag or license plate for the trailer by registering it with your local county tax collector office. The purpose of registering your home built utility trailer is to prove you own it. To get a tag for your utility trailer, you must submit the proper documentation and any applicable fees to your local office.
Locate the nearest Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) office to you by using the FLHSMV online directory and clicking on the county you live in. Or, call the Customer Service Center at 850-617-2000 and ask the operator for the contact information of your local office.
Obtain a "Notice of Sale and/or Bill of Sale for a Motor Vehicle, Mobile Home, Off-Highway Vehicle or Vessel" form if you bought the home-made utility trailer from a builder. You may download the form from the official FLHSMV website, call your local office and have a form mailed to you or pick one up in person.
Complete the Bill of Sale document. Both you and the builder must fill it out and sign the document.
Find your local weigh station in Florida using the directory on the "Big Rig Jobs" website. Click on the city where you live to obtain a list of local weigh stations. Or, call your local FLHSMV office and ask where the closest weigh station is.
Bring your utility trailer to a Florida weigh station near you and obtain a weight slip, which is required to prove the empty weight of the trailer. It's important to find out how much your utility trailers weighs because registration fees will vary depending on its weight. In addition, the FLHSMV needs to know how much your trailer weighs in order to determine whether or not you are required to title it.
Submit the completed Bill of Sale and weight slip to your local tax collector office to register your utility trailer. At the office, expect to pay registration fees which may range from $46.15 to $141.30, at time of publication and depending on the weight of your trailer, taxes and county fees. Once all the paperwork is processed and fees are paid, you will receive your new tags for your trailer at the office.
Tips & Warnings
- If your home-built utility trailer weighs 2,000 pounds or more, in addition to registering it, you must also obtain a title for it from your local county office. If your home built utility trailer weighs 1,999 pounds or less, only registration is required.
- Manatee County Tax Collector: Motor Vehicle -- Trailer Registrations
- Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV): Notice of Sale and/or Bill of Sale for a Motor Vehicle, Mobile Home, Off-Highway Vehicle or Vessel
- BigRigJobs.com: Find Florida Truck Scales and Weight Stations
- FLHSMV: Office Locations
- FLHSMV: Contact Information
- Photo Credit Stockbyte/Stockbyte/Getty Images
How to Register an Untitled Trailer in Florida
Comments You May Also Like. How to Get the Tag for a Home Built Utility Trailer in Florida. If you built or...
How to Register a Utility Trailer
How to Get the Tag for a Home Built Utility Trailer in Florida. If you built or purchased a home-made utility trailer...
How to Register a Home Built Trailer
How to Get the Tag for a Home Built Utility Trailer in ... or purchased a home-made utility trailer in Florida, ......
How to Register a Boat Trailer in Florida
The bill of sale... Florida DOT Regulations Regarding Boat Trailers. ... A utility trailer is... Florida Trailer Laws. Florida Trailer Laws.
Homemade Utility Trailer Title & License
Homemade Utility Trailer Title & License. State laws vary regarding registration of utility trailers. ... Florida Boat Trailer Registration Laws.
How to Register Utility Trailers in Texas
How to Register an Untitled Trailer in Florida. ... that Pennsylvanians register their homemade trailers. ... How to Register a Boat Trailer...
How to Register Homemade Cargo Trailers in Indiana
Since your homemade trailer is a newly constructed vehicle, ... Application for Certificate of Title ... How to Register an Untitled Trailer...
Utility Trailer Laws of Alabama
Kansas State Trailer Tag Weight Laws. Before traveling through Kansas with a trailer, ... If you built or purchased a home-made utility...
Do You Need a Title for Horse Trailers in Florida?
The owner of a used horse trailer with a net weight of less than 2,000 pounds, whether it is manufactured or homemade,...
How to Title a Homemade Boat Trailer in Indiana
You can title any newly manufactured vehicle or trailer in Indiana by following certain guidelines laid out by the Indiana Bureau of...
Requirements for Pulling Utility Trailers in Georgia
All vehicles must have a valid county tag registration and a driver ... Small trailers are usually ... New Jersey Laws for...
How to Register a Boat Trailer
Each state that requires the registration of boat trailers has its ... How to Register a Boat Trailer in Williamson County, ......