How to Block a Non-Friend From Seeing a Profile on Facebook

Save

Because much of the information you share on Facebook is personal in nature, you may find it useful to hide your profile from people who are not on your friend list. Check-ins using Facebook mobile, wall posts and your contact information section all contain information that makes it easy for strangers to find you in the real world. To prohibit people you don't know from tracking you down, use the "Privacy Settings" tool on Facebook to hide them from viewing your profile.

  • Click the "Account" link located in the right corner of the Facebook banner, which runs atop every screen on the site.

  • Select "Privacy Settings" from the "Account" drop-down menu.

  • Click "Friends Only" in the left column of the "Sharing on Facebook" chart.

  • Click the blue "Apply These Settings" button at the bottom of the "Sharing on Facebook" chart.

Tips & Warnings

  • Click the "Customize Settings" link in the "Sharing on Facebook" section to manage each portion of your profile separately. For example, you might make your education private but keep your favorite movies available to non-friends.
  • Photo Credit Dan Kitwood/Getty Images News/Getty Images
Promoted By Zergnet

Comments

Related Searches

Check It Out

Geek Vs Geek: Robot battles, hoverboard drag race, and more

M
Is DIY in your DNA? Become part of our maker community.
Submit Your Work!