How to Stop Google Links From Turning Purple

Save

When you search for something on Google, if some of the results are purple, it simply signifies that you have already visited that Web page and have a record of it in your browser history. To remove the purple color, you will have to delete your browser history. To prevent your browsing from being recorded, you can enter a private browsing mode. The exact instructions for doing both of these actions will vary depending on which browser you are using.

Internet Explorer 8

  • Click the "Safety" menu, located in the top-right corner of the browser window. Click "Delete Browsing History" from the drop-down menu. A new window will open up.

  • Add check marks in the boxes next to the items that you want to delete, removing any check marks if necessary. Ensure that the "History" box has a check mark. Click the "Delete" button to erase your history. The next time you do a Google search, none of the results links will be purple.

  • Click the "Safety" button and choose "InPrivate Browsing" to open a private browsing window. Any browsing that you do in this window will not be recorded in IE's history.

Firefox 5

  • Click the "Tools" menu at the top of the Firefox window. Choose "Clear Recent History" from the drop-down menu.

  • Click on any check marks to remove them from any aspect that you don't want erased, like Cookies or Cache, but ensure that "Browsing & Download History" has a check next to it. Click the drop-down box at the top of the window and choose "Everything." Click the "Clear Now" button to erase your history. Your next Google search will not return any purple results links.

  • Click the "Tools" menu and choose "Start Private Browsing" to open up a private browsing window. Any Web pages that you visit in this browser will not be recorded in your browser history.

Google Chrome 12

  • Click the wrench icon on the right end of the address bar. Choose "History" from the drop-down menu.

  • Click "Edit Items" at the top of the list of Web pages, then click the "Clear all browsing data" button. Add or remove check marks to the different data fields, but ensure that "Clear browsing history" has a check mark. Click the drop-down menu and choose "the beginning of time." Click "Clear browsing data" to erase your history.

  • Click the wrench icon and choose "New Incognito Window" to open up a browsing window that will not record your online activity.

References

Promoted By Zergnet

Comments

You May Also Like

  • How to Grow a Purple Yam Tuber

    In the Philippines, the purple yam is called ube. Locals in this region are fond of the desserts they make with this...

  • How to Change Visited Link Text Color

    Computers come with defaults for everything from page displays to text color to the size and shape of the words you see....

  • How to Get Rid of Google Ads

    Google Adsense is a free program that allows anyone with a website to display advertisements on their site. Google helps advertisers by...

Related Searches

Check It Out

Geek Vs Geek: Robot battles, hoverboard drag race, and more

M
Is DIY in your DNA? Become part of our maker community.
Submit Your Work!