Cosmetology professionals in the state of Ohio seeking to earn a manager's license must successfully pass the Ohio State Board of Cosmetology Manager Exam. To qualify to take the test, applicants must hold a current active basic license as well as have one year -- at least 2,000 hours -- of work experience.
How to Apply for the Exam
Apply for the exam by filling out a manager's examination application. This form requires your full contact and identification information, the name and address of the cosmetology school you attended, as well as certification confirming one year's worth of work experience. The work experience section must be completed by your employer. The completed application needs to be signed by both you and your employer in the presence of a notary. Mail the application to The Ohio State Board of Cosmetology address on the top of the form. Include a check or money order payable to "Treasurer, State of Ohio" for the examination fee of $31.50 -- as of 2014 -- along with one recent wallet-size photo of yourself and a copy of your current driver's license or state ID card. All fees are nonrefundable.
What Content Does the Exam Cover
The manager's exam consists of 50 multiple-choice questions. Topics include a variety of salon management principles, including business operations, ownership, insurance, compensation record keeping, inventory, advertising, zoning and Ohio rules, laws and regulations related to cosmetology.
How to Prepare for the Exam
The Ohio State Board of Cosmetology lists the books "Milady Standard Cosmetology" and Pivot Point's "Salon Fundamentals"" as two reference materials for the exam. Applicants can purchase these books along with corresponding study guides or check with your local library. Use practice exams and flash cards as study aids, or form a study group with other cosmetologists preparing for the exam.
What to Expect on Exam Day
Arrive at the exam location on time and bring a copy of your board-issued photo ID, which includes the board seal and identification number, along with a valid photo ID, such as a driver's license or passport. Wear clean, professional attire with closed-toe shoes. There is a 60-minute time limit for the exam. Individuals arriving late, without proper ID, or wearing inappropriate attire will be dismissed from the exam room. In order to take the exam again, applicants will have to submit a reschedule application along with the appropriate fees.
Test results are available the same day, and a score of at least 75 percent is required to receive a passing grade. If you pass, you must surrender your current basic license and pay a fee of $45 -- as of 2014 -- to receive your new manager's license.
- Photo Credit Jupiterimages/Stockbyte/Getty Images
Cosmetology License Renewal Information
In order to protect the public's safety, each state has determined the amount of training and experience that cosmetologists must have to...
How to Get a Copy of Your Cosmetologist License
If you have lost your cosmetologist license, get it replaced as soon as possible. The license proves you are authorized to practice...
How to Be a Cosmetologist State Inspector
Cosmetologists are not just hair stylists. As a certified cosmetologist, you have the opportunity to partake different roles with this profession. Some...
Beauty Salon Licensing Requirements
Licensing is required in most states to legally operate a beauty salon. Some requirements are common to all jurisdictions. The regulations ensure...