Anyone can become a licensed title producer in Maryland provided she has not be convicted of a felony. The process is expensive to start without a corporate backer funding the bill. An individual going into business will need to have at least $10,000 available to secure a license as an independent agency. A little research and studying is required to successfully obtain a Maryland title producer's license.
Attend a pre-license training class. These classes are available all over Maryland. Classes last one to three days and cover all title licensing requirements and regulations.
Study the test materials. The pre-licensing training program will provide learning materials. These duplicate the Maryland licensing exam and must be studied in depth.
Take the Maryland licensing exam. These exams are offered in various cities in Maryland by appointment only.
Obtain a fidelity bond. Fidelity bonds protect clients from loss resulting from fraud. Maryland requires a minimum of $10,000 fidelity bond, down from the $150,000 requirement in the past.
Prepare and mail application for Maryland producer license. The application can be found at the National Insurance Producer Registry website (see References). It must be filled out and mailed with copies of all documents.