How to Cancel Migration Assistant

Save

Migration Assistant is a program used to transfer files and information from one Mac to another. It's often used when you upgrade to a new model. You can transfer your information with Migration Assistant using FireWire, Ethernet, wireless network or a backup disk. Sometimes, when a large volume of information is being transferred over a wireless network, Migration Assistant can freeze, or it can take longer than you want to wait. Though canceling the program during a transfer isn't recommended, it can be done in two simple steps.

  • Hold the "Command" key and type "Q" on the new Mac for five seconds until the program quits.

  • Hold the "Command" key and type "Q" on the old Mac for five seconds until the program quits on the old computer.

  • Press the power key and hold for five to 10 seconds on both computers to power down.

  • Turn the power on both computers to begin the Migration Assistant program a second time.

Tips & Warnings

  • USB or Ethernet connections are the most successful ways to use Migration Assistant. Using a wireless connection is the least reliable method.
  • Canceling Migration Assistant during the transfer process can result in a loss of data. Be sure to back up your information using Time Machine or another method before you begin any transfer.

Related Searches

References

  • Photo Credit Thinkstock/Comstock/Getty Images
Promoted By Zergnet

Comments

Resources

Related Searches

Check It Out

Geek Vs Geek: Robot battles, hoverboard drag race, and more

M
Is DIY in your DNA? Become part of our maker community.
Submit Your Work!