How to Delete Information Forever on My BlackBerry

Save

You can permanently delete information stored on your BlackBerry in a few quick steps, right from your device. A security wipe saves you from the tedious task of deleting items one by one. You can remove all user added data, such as contacts, email and pictures. You can also choose to remove any applications you've installed. Performing a security wipe is a good idea if you're donating an old BlackBerry or returning one, as it removes all sensitive data.

Things You'll Need

  • BlackBerry running OS 6 or higher
  • Press your "Menu" button to open the full list of menu options.

  • Scroll to and select the "Options" icon. From the "Options" list, choose "Security."

  • Select "Security Wipe."

  • Select the checkboxes adjacent to the items you wish to permanently delete. You can select "Email, Contacts, Etc.," "User Installed Applications" and "Media Card."

  • Scroll to the "Confirmation" field. Type the word "blackberry" in the field. Select "Wipe Data." The handheld wipe will begin. Your device will power cycle when it is complete.

Tips & Warnings

  • For BlackBerry devices running an older software version, you can find the "Security Wipe" option by clicking "Options," "Security Options," then "General Settings."
  • Your BlackBerry will not be useable during the deletion process. If you have a large amount of data on the device, it can take up to an hour to complete.

References

  • Photo Credit Jupiterimages/Photos.com/Getty Images
Promoted By Zergnet

Comments

Resources

You May Also Like

Related Searches

Check It Out

Geek Vs Geek: Robot battles, hoverboard drag race, and more

M
Is DIY in your DNA? Become part of our maker community.
Submit Your Work!