How to Unregister a Facebook Account


When you’ve had enough of Facebook and you’re ready to sever your ties to the site, deleting your account is the Facebook equivalent of unregistering. The process totally removes your presence from Facebook with no option to recover your account after the deletion is complete.

Delete Your Account

  • Visit Facebook’s "Delete My Account" page (link in Resources). If you aren’t already logged in, log in when requested to do so. Click the “Delete My Account” button after reading through the screen’s message. In the new pop-up window, enter your password and complete the CAPTCHA code before clicking “OK” to hide your information from Facebook users immediately. The final pop-up shows your account is deactivated. But wait, that’s not deletion! Facebook gives you 14 days to change your mind. If you log in to the site during those two weeks, you have the option to reactivate your account. Provided you don’t do that, your account is fully deleted after two weeks.

Deactivation or Deletion

  • Deactivation is not to be confused with deletion. Deactivating your account is like putting Facebook on hold, but where's the commitment? Although no one can see it, your information remains on the site, along with all your photos, conversations and other information, like an ex that can't let go. When you’re ready to get back together, you can reactivate your account and continue using it just by logging in. Deletion, on the other hand, is permanent -- Facebook divorce. Aside from the two-week deactivation period, you cannot reverse a deleted account.


  • Photo Credit zakokor/iStock/Getty Images
Promoted By Zergnet



You May Also Like

Related Searches

Is DIY in your DNA? Become part of our maker community.
Submit Your Work!