How to Keep Group Activity Private in Facebook

Save

The tagline says it all: "Facebook helps you connect and share with the people in your life." Indeed, Facebook has brought people together unlike any other social networking site through personal sharing and group activity. With millions of users posting photos, video, and private information, privacy is an important concern. If you belong to a Facebook group and you want to keep your posts confidential or your group's activity private, Facebook has settings to keep your online activity closed to users who don't have access to your group.

Change Existing Group Settings

  • Log in to your account at Facebook as the administrator of the group. Only the administrator who set up the group can change the privacy settings.

  • Go to your group's "Home" page. Click the "Edit Group" button on the right side of the page.

  • Select the group name from the pull-down menu. Click the "Privacy" pull-down menu. Click "Closed" to create a group for which anyone can see the group members and the group name, but are unable to see the members' posts. Click "Secret" to prevent anyone outside the group from seeing the members or the group name.

  • Check the box next to "Membership Approval" if you want the group administrator to approve requests to join the group. This will provide additional privacy by preventing uninvited people from joining the group.

  • Save changes.

Privatize a New Group

  • Log in to Facebook with your regular user's Facebook account. Click on the "Home" page tab.

  • Click "Create a group" at the left of the page. Give your group a name in the text box. Add your members' names in the "Members" box.

  • Click the "Privacy" pull-down menu. Click "Closed" to create a group for which anyone can see the group members and the group name, but are non-members are unable to see the members' posts. Click "Secret" to prevent anyone outside the group from seeing the members or the group name.

Tips & Warnings

  • Members of your group will receive a notification when your group's privacy settings are changed.

References

  • Photo Credit Justin Sullivan/Getty Images News/Getty Images
Promoted By Zergnet

Comments

You May Also Like

Related Searches

Check It Out

Geek Vs Geek: Robot battles, hoverboard drag race, and more

M
Is DIY in your DNA? Become part of our maker community.
Submit Your Work!