How to Unshare a Wireless Connection


Windows allows you to share a wireless connection with other users on the network. Internet Connection Sharing lets users browse the Internet using your local computer's Internet settings and wireless connection. To stop others from using your connection, you must "unshare" the service in the network settings located in the Windows Control Panel. Any existing connections are removed, so users are disconnected from the Internet after the settings are applied.

  • Click the Windows "Start" button and click "Control Panel." In the top-right corner text box, type "adapter" and press "Enter." A list of Control Panel utilities is shown.

  • Click "View network connections" to view the adapters installed on the computer. Right-click the wireless adapter that is shared and select "Properties." Type the administrator password, if you are prompted for the password to access the adapter properties.

  • Click the "Sharing" tab. Remove the check mark next to the option labeled "Allow other network users to connect through this computer's Internet connection." If the option labeled "Allow other network users to control or disable the shared Internet connection" is checked, remove the check mark next to this option.

  • Click "OK" to save the settings. If any users are connected, a warning message appears. Click "Yes" to confirm that you want to disconnect any existing users.


Promoted By Zergnet


You May Also Like

Related Searches

Is DIY in your DNA? Become part of our maker community.
Submit Your Work!