How to Limit Who Sees What on Facebook

Save

Facebook users can control the information that others see through the Facebook privacy settings. Privacy settings allow you to restrict who views your information to a large group, a select few or even only yourself. The privacy settings are simple to set, but the process may take some time if you plan to make each setting specific.

  • Open a Web browser and go to Facebook.com.

  • Type your email address and Facebook password into the provided fields on the upper right portion of the page. Click "Login."

  • Click "Account" in the upper right corner, to bring up a drop-down menu.

  • Click "Privacy Settings," the third option in the drop-down menu. This loads the "Choose Your Privacy Settings" page.

  • Click the privacy setting you want to put into effect from the options on the left side of the page. The choices include: "Everyone," in which every individual on Facebook can see your Facebook profile in its entirety; "Friends of Friends," in which only people on your personal friends list and people on your friends' personal friends list can see your profile; "Friends Only," in which only those on your personal friends list can see your profile; and "Recommended," which is the Facebook recommended privacy setting.

    The Recommended setting allows status, photos, posts, bio, quotations, family and relationships to be visible to all, Photos and videos you're tagged in, birthday, religious and political views to be visible to friends of friends, and permission to comment on your posts and contact information to be seen by friends only.

  • Click "Apply These Settings."

Tips & Warnings

  • To further customize who sees what on your profile, you can access the "Customize Settings" link at the bottom of the "Choose Your Privacy Settings" main page. You can elect to make each individual category, such as "Relationships" for example, visible to friends, friends of friends, everyone, or you can click the customize option.
  • The customize option allows you to make parts of your profile visible to only you, or to hide portions of your profile from selected people. Changes made in this advanced Customize Settings menu are automatic and go into effect as soon as you click "Preview Profile."

References

Promoted By Zergnet

Comments

You May Also Like

Related Searches

M
Is DIY in your DNA? Become part of our maker community.
Submit Your Work!