How to Completely Erase an iPhone

Save

The iPhone holds a wide variety of data, from music files to applications. While each piece of information or program can be deleted individually, the entire phone is also reset pretty easily. Resetting an iPhone deletes all information previously saved to the device and removes the encryption key for the data. Don't reset your iPhone unless you're certain you don't need the information on it anymore because the action is permanent.

Things You'll Need

  • Dock connector to USB cable
  • Connect your iPhone to a computer with the dock connector to USB cable. Alternatively, attach the cable to a power adapter and plug your phone into a wall outlet.

  • Tap the gray "Settings" icon on your iPhone home screen.

  • Choose "General" from the menu.

  • Tap "Reset" and choose "Erase All Content and Settings."

References

  • Photo Credit David Paul Morris/Getty Images News/Getty Images
Promoted By Zergnet

Comments

You May Also Like

Related Searches

M
Is DIY in your DNA? Become part of our maker community.
Submit Your Work!