How to Become a Florida Funeral Director With a License

Save

Funeral directors, sometimes referred to as undertakers or morticians, provide essential societal functions relating to the disposition of the dead. Their services may include preparing the body of the deceased for interment or cremation, overseeing the funeral arrangements to correspond to the wishes of the deceased's family or loved ones, submitting obituary notices to local news outlets, and assisting the survivors with legal paperwork. All states, including Florida, require funeral directors to be licensed.

  • Graduate from high school. Florida state law requires all candidates for licensure as a funeral director to hold a high school diploma or a General Educational Development certificate. All candidates for licensure as a funeral director in Florida must be at least 18 years of age at the time of application.

  • Earn an associate's degree. Florida state law requires funeral directors to hold at least an associate's degree from a two-year community college. Students may earn a degree with a major course of study in mortuary science from a college or university that has been accredited by the American Board of Funeral Service Education, but there is no requirement that the student's degree include a major course of study in mortuary science. The requirement for a degree from a two-year or four-year college may not be waived and nothing may be substituted for it.

  • Complete a one-year American Board of Funeral Service Education-accredited course of instruction in mortuary science. This instruction must include studies in the theory and practice of embalming, restorative art, chemistry, hygiene, pathology, microbiology, anatomy, and public health and sanitation. Candidates who hold a degree with a major in mortuary science are exempt from this requirement.

  • Take and pass a two-hour course of instruction on communicable diseases, including HIV/AIDS. This course of instruction must be approved by the Florida Department of Health. Submit your fingerprints to the Florida Department of Financial Services for a criminal background check.

  • Complete an internship under the direct supervision of a funeral director who holds a Florida license. The internship must include 40 hours per week for 50 weeks during a consecutive 52-week period. Prior to the end of your internship, submit your application for a funeral director license to the Florida Division of Funeral, Cemetery & Consumer Services. Take the Florida Law & Rules Exam. If you pass the examination, you will be granted a Florida funeral director license upon completion of your internship.

References

  • Photo Credit Stockbyte/Stockbyte/Getty Images
Promoted By Zergnet

Comments

Resources

You May Also Like

  • How to Become a Mortician in Arizona

    Morticians, sometimes referred to as funeral directors or undertakers, are important members of society as they assist in the preparation and ultimate...

  • How to Become a Funeral Director in Texas

    Funeral directors help families make decisions about embalming and cremation, and arrange funeral services, hearses and caskets. In Texas, a license or...

  • List of Funeral Director Schools

    Funeral directors physically prepare a body for burial and help individuals through an important part of the grieving process. Also known as...

  • Mortuary Schools Online

    A professional embalmer or director of funeral services must have a state license, which he can obtain only after getting a certificate...

  • Cremation License Requirements

    To obtain your cremation license, you will need to file an application with your specific state’s Cemetery and Funeral Board. They will...

Related Searches

M
Is DIY in your DNA? Become part of our maker community.
Submit Your Work!