How to Remove All Remembered Email Address & Numbers From Popping Up


In the spirit of making the Internet a bit easier to use, Web browser software -- Internet Explorer, Firefox and Google Chrome, most notably -- usually has a built-in auto-complete feature. This feature helps remove the tedium of repeatedly typing your address or phone number into forms when you sign up for websites, but can be a nuisance in itself, especially on busy computers with several users or when you've made mistakes entering information. In all three browsers, however, the option is easy to disable or reset.

  • Open Internet Explorer and click on the "Tools" button on the right-hand side, and then choose "Internet Options" from the bottom of the list. Click on the "Content" tab along the top and look for the "Auto Complete" section. Click the "Settings" button beside "Auto Complete." You can do a few different things from this screen. To remove all auto-fill data, simply click "Delete AutoComplete History ... " This will clear the forms and addresses, but IE will start recording again. To disable the feature completely, uncheck options in the main "AutoComplete Settings" window.

  • Open Firefox and click "Tools" in the menu bar and then choose "Options." Click "Privacy" to access your history and then click the blue text that says "clear your recent history" to open the Clear Recent History tool. Select a range -- "last hour," "two hours," "today" or "everything" -- from the drop-down menu. If you want to get rid of all form data, click "everything," since you may not know when you entered the information originally. Check the box beside "Form & Search History" and then click the "Clear Now" button. Select "Use custom settings for History" in the Privacy window and then uncheck "Remember search and form history" to prevent Firefox from recording in the future.

  • Open Google Chrome and then click tool button beside the address bar, which is indicated by a wrench icon. Select "Options" from the tool menu to open Chrome's web-page options interface. Choose "Under the Hood" from the left-hand navigation menu and then click the "Clear browsing data ... " button beside "Privacy." Check the box next to "Clear saved Autofill form data" and then choose "the beginning of time" for the time range from next to "Obliterate the follow items from." Click "Clear browsing data" to accept these settings. Then click "Personal Stuff" from the left-hand navigation pane and disable form autofill by removing the check mark from "Enable Autofill to fill out Web forms in a single click." Close the Options tab to save your settings.

Promoted By Zergnet


You May Also Like

Related Searches

Is DIY in your DNA? Become part of our maker community.
Submit Your Work!