How to Purge Deleted Email in Outlook 2007

Save

Microsoft Outlook 2007, when configured for IMAP communication, does not delete messages you no longer want. Instead, it uses a strikethrough to mark messages for deletion. These marked messages can quickly overwhelm a mailbox, wasting disk space and forcing you to scroll through unwanted messages. Save space and time by creating an Outlook toolbar command button that allows you to purge messages marked for deletion with a single click of the mouse.

  • Open Outlook 2007 and click "Tools" from the menu options on the top of the screen.

  • Click "Customize" to bring up the Customize dialog box, and then click the "Commands" tab.

  • Click "Edit" on the left side of the screen. This brings up the available editing command options on the right side of the screen.

  • Locate "Purge Marked Items in All Accounts" from the list on the right side of the screen.

  • Click "Purge Marked Items in All Accounts" and continue to hold the mouse button down. Drag the selected command to the toolbar. Position the mouse pointer where you want the new button to appear on the toolbar and release the mouse button. For example, if you would like the new button to appear beside the "Delete" toolbar command button, position the mouse between the "Delete" command button and the next toolbar command button, and then release the mouse button.

  • Rename the "Purge Marked Items in All Accounts" command button to save toolbar space. Right-click the button, enter the desired name, and press the "Enter" key on your keyboard to save the name change. Click "Close" to return to the main Outlook screen.

  • Click the new purge command button to remove all messages marked for deletion.

References

  • Photo Credit Oli Scarff/Getty Images News/Getty Images
Promoted By Zergnet

Comments

Resources

Related Searches

M
Is DIY in your DNA? Become part of our maker community.
Submit Your Work!