How to Shut off the Remote Access on the MacBook

Save

Remote Access is a useful feature of Mac OS X that lets you access files on your computer from anywhere. Remote Access also lets anyone with your administrator login and password access files on your computer, which is why it is a good idea to shut this feature off if you don't really use it. You must shut off remote access in System Preferences on your actual computer and not through your remote connection.

  • Click the "Apple" menu in the top-right corner of your MacBook's screen and select "System Preferences." Alternatively, you can also access your System Preferences through the icon in your Dock and your "Applications" folder.

  • Click the "Sharing" pane under the "Network & Internet" heading. If you have your sharing settings locked, click the lock in the bottom-right corner and enter the administrator password for your MacBook.

  • Uncheck the boxes next to "Remote Login" and "Remote Management." Click the lock again and re-enter your administrator password if you want to prevent future changes. Close your System Preferences.

Tips & Warnings

  • Note that the Remote Access feature of Mac OS X is not the same as Remote Desktop, which is an application you must purchase from Apple.

References

Promoted By Zergnet

Comments

You May Also Like

Related Searches

M
Is DIY in your DNA? Become part of our maker community.
Submit Your Work!