How to Find Out if Your Followers Are Following You Back on Twitter

Save

When you post to your Twitter account, anyone can see your tweets, and anyone can decide to follow you; you, however, do not have to follow them back. Twitter provides you with the number of followers you have, but it doesn't tell you which of those followers are mutual, meaning people you also follow. To find out if your followers are following you back on Twitter, you have to either check manually or use a third-party service.

  • Sign in to your Twitter account. Open your followers in one window and the list of people you follow in another. Resize one window of your browser so that you can view both windows at once. Check each of the people you follow against your list of Twitter followers.

  • Click the "Following" link on your Twitter page. A list of people you follow appears in the panel on the left, beneath your name and icon. Click the name of a person you follow. Her information -- name, icon, number of tweets and the like -- opens in a panel on the right side of the screen. Look for the menu that contains a green "Following" button with a check mark in it. This shows that you're following the user. To the right of the green button, there's a "Message" button if the person follows you back. If there is no "Message" button, the person does not follow you -- Twitter only allows direct messages between mutual followers. Click the name of each of the users you follow to discover if they follow you back.

  • Visit Web services such as Friend or Follow or My Tweeple (see Resources). Type your username into the text box on the Friend or Follow website and click "Submit." This loads a new page with a list of users who do not follow you back. On My Tweeple, click the "Sign in With Twitter" button. A new window opens that prompts you to give the My Tweeple service access to your Twitter account. Click "Allow" and then "Sync with Twitter." My Tweeple displays an "It's Mutual" icon beneath the name of followers who follow you back.

Tips & Warnings

  • If you decide you no longer want to use the My Tweeple service, go to your Twitter settings page and click the "Connections" tab. Click the "Revoke Access" button in the My Tweeple section.

References

Promoted By Zergnet

Comments

Resources

You May Also Like

Related Searches

Check It Out

Geek Vs Geek: Robot battles, hoverboard drag race, and more

M
Is DIY in your DNA? Become part of our maker community.
Submit Your Work!