How to Sync an iPhone After a Restore

Save

Performing a full restore on an Apple iPhone returns the device to its default factory settings. This wipes all saved settings, personal data and saved documents and multimedia files from the phone. To sync the freshly reset iPhone with Apple iTunes on your personal computer, you must first set up the phone as a new device. You can then sync and transfer content from the iTunes library to the phone.

  • Launch Apple iTunes on your computer.

  • Plug one end of the USB data cable supplied with the iPhone into your computer. Plug the other end of the USB cable into the phone.

  • Wait for iTunes to detect the iPhone. An iPhone icon will appear under "Devices" in the menu on the left side of the application window.

  • Click "Set Up As New" from the "Set Up Your iPhone/iPad/iPod" window.

  • Wait for the setup wizard to configure the iPhone to work with iTunes.

  • Click the "Sync" button at the bottom of the main iTunes window to sync your iPhone with iTunes.

  • Wait for the "Synchronization Complete, OK to Disconnect" message to appear in the iTunes status window and then disconnect the phone. Click the "Eject" icon, (under "Devices") and unplug the USB cable from the computer and the iPhone.

Tips & Warnings

  • Apple iTunes runs the "Set Up As New" option as part of the iPhone restore process. You should only need to complete the above steps if you initiated a full restore from the phone's Settings menu.
  • Setting up the iPhone as a new device will automatically remove the previous iPhone backup from iTunes.

References

  • Photo Credit Miguel Villagran/Getty Images News/Getty Images
Promoted By Zergnet

Comments

Resources

You May Also Like

Related Searches

Check It Out

Geek Vs Geek: Robot battles, hoverboard drag race, and more

M
Is DIY in your DNA? Become part of our maker community.
Submit Your Work!