How to Reset an iPhone if it is Password Protected

Save

The iPhone offers a passcode option as the first line of defense when it comes to the security of your phone and your private data. This four-digit code must be entered any time the phone is activated after idleness -- when the screen goes blank -- and it can even be set to delete all of the iPhone's data if a determined number of failed password entries is exceeded. If you simply forgot your passcode, however, there is a way to reset the phone for active use once again.

  • Open iTunes on the computer you most recently used to sync your phone. Plug the iPhone into the computer's USB port.

  • Select the phone in the lefthand menu. Click "Restore" and "Don't Back Up." You can choose to create a backup of your data in its current state, but this data will still be locked by the phone's passcode once it has been restored. If you have synced your iPhone with the computer, however, or if you created a backup before using the passcode, you can still reinstate nearly all of your data and settings.

  • Select "Restore." This option will delete all of the data on your iPhone and restore it to factory settings. Select this option only if there is no way to recover your passcode.

  • Wait for the iPhone to restore itself and restart. The Apple logo is displayed in the meantime. Once the process has completed, you can choose to resync your iPhone's basic data, restore the device from a backup or simply start anew. For now, however, the iPhone's passcode is no longer active.

References

  • Photo Credit Hemera Technologies/Photos.com/Getty Images
Promoted By Zergnet

Comments

You May Also Like

Related Searches

Check It Out

Geek Vs Geek: Robot battles, hoverboard drag race, and more

M
Is DIY in your DNA? Become part of our maker community.
Submit Your Work!