If you've recently bought or sold a new vehicle in New Jersey, one of the first things you will need to do is officially transfer the title. Transferring the title will provide proof of the new legal owner of the vehicle. This is necessary to register the car so that it can be driven. It takes only a bit of paperwork and one trip to a local New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission office to transfer ownership of a newly purchased car.
Things You'll Need
- Vehicle title
- Proof of insurance
- Application for Certificate of Ownership
Fill in the required information on the back of the title, including the buyer's name, address and driver's license number, the date of sale, sale price and the vehicle's odometer reading at the time it was sold. The seller must remove the license plates from the car and either surrender them to the Motor Vehicle Commission or transfer them to a different vehicle.
Complete the buyer's section on the back of the title. This will require only the buyer's signature and driver's license number.
Fill out an Application for Certificate of Ownership. This can be found online and printed out or acquired from a Motor Vehicle Commission office. This form will ask for the buyer's personal information plus basic information on the vehicle such as its make, model, body type and Vehicle Identification Number (VIN). The buyer will also have to provide the name and address of the lien holder if the purchase of the vehicle has been financed.
Gather the completed Application for Certificate of Ownership, signed title and proof of insurance if you are buying the vehicle. Go to your local Motor Vehicle Commission office. An agent at the office will look over the paperwork to make sure that everything has been filled out correctly.
Pay the title transfer fee if you are the buyer of the vehicle. As of April 2011, this fee is $60 for a vehicle that has been paid for in full and $85 for a financed vehicle. The buyer will also need to pay the sales tax, which will vary depending on the sale price of the car. The buyer will be allowed to register the vehicle in his name once ownership has been transferred and the applicable fees paid.
Tips & Warnings
- If the title is not transferred into your name within 10 business days from the sale date, you will be required to pay a penalty fee, which is $25 as of April 2011.
- Photo Credit Jupiterimages/Photos.com/Getty Images
How to Transfer Business Ownership
Private ownership of a business and the associated business property is a basic principle of the American free enterprise system. Whether you...
How to Fill Out a Car Title in New Jersey
If you own a vehicle in New Jersey, you must have a valid car title in order to prove ownership of the...
How to Fill Out the Auto Transfer of Title in California
If you have an automobile that is titled and registered in California, there are specific procedures to follow when you sell it....
How to Transfer Car Title Ownership in New York
Selling or gifting a car completing the transfer privately can ensure maximum benefit to both current and new owners. In the state...
How to Transfer a Car Title in Washington
As of April 2010, when you purchase a car in the State of Washington from a private party, you must transfer the...
How Do I Get a Replacement Title for My Car in New Jersey?
Replacing your car title in New Jersey is simple as long as you have access to the person you bought it from....
How to Fill Out a Texas Certificate of Title
Protect yourself and the person that sold you their car by filling out the required paperwork to obtain a Texas Certificate of...
How to Change Ownership With a POA at the DMV in Roanoke, VA
A power of attorney (POA) allows one person to act on behalf of another person. It is commonly used in cases where...
How to Fill Out a Certificate of Title When Selling a Car in North Carolina
While some states allow vehicle title transfers while a lien is still listed, the state of North Carolina does not. You must...