How to Permentantly Delete the Favorites Tool Bar

  • Print this article

Many Web browsers feature a tool near the top of the browser called the "Favorites Bar" or "Bookmarks Bar." While permanently deleting the ability to use the bar is impossible, you can delete the pages saved on the Favorites Bar and disable the bar. With the contents deleted and the bar disabled, the next time you open your Internet browser, the Favorites Bar will be gone. Furthermore, if it's ever restored, the pages that used to be on it will still be gone.

Instructions

  1. Internet Explorer 8

    • 1

      Press the "Start" orb and hover over "All Programs." When the list of programs appears, select "Internet Explorer."

    • 2

      Place your cursor over one of the saved pages on the Favorites Bar and right-click the icon. Select "Delete" and "Yes" when you're asked if you want to send the item to your Recycle Bin.

    • 3

      Delete the remaining "favorites" on the bar until the bar is blank. Click "View" and hover over the "Toolbars" option. Uncheck "Bookmarks Bar" and minimize Internet Explorer.

    • 4

      Right-click the Recycle Bin on your desktop and click "Empty Recycle Bin." When asked if you want to perminantly delete the items within, click "Yes."

    Firefox 4

    • 5

      Click the "Start" orb and hover the mouse cursor over "All Programs." Select "Firefox" from the expanded list.

    • 6

      Right-click one of the bookmarks on Firefox's Bookmarks Bar and select "Delete." Delete the rest of the bookmarks the same way until the bar is empty.

    • 7

      Click "Firefox" in the window's top-left corner and hover the cursor over "Options." Uncheck "Bookmarks Toolbar" from the resulting menu.

    Google Chrome 10

    • 8

      Click "Start" and hover over "All Programs." Select Google Chrome from the expanded list to open the browser.

    • 9

      Right-click one of the bookmarks on the Bookmarks Bar and select "Delete." Delete the rest of the bookmarks with this method.

    • 10

      Click the wrench in the top-right corner of the window. Navigate to "Tools" and uncheck "Always Show Bookmarks Bar."

Tips & Warnings

  • With this method, your Favorites Bar's contents will be permanently deleted. If you ever want to use it again, simply re-activate the option you chose to disable it.

Related Searches

Comments

You May Also Like

Related Ads

Featured
View Mobile Site