If you are an adult living in the state of Arkansas who does not want or require a driver's license but still needs a form of identification, the Arkansas state ID card is the perfect solution. ID cards look similar to a driver's license but do not grant the holder permission to operate a motor vehicle; they are used solely to prove a person's identity and age in situations that may warrant it, such as when purchasing an item that requires the buyer to be over a certain age. To obtain an Arkansas ID card, you will need to prove your identity to the state and pay a small fee.
Things You'll Need
- 2 forms of identification
Gather the required documentation. In order to get an Arkansas state ID card, you must prove your identity and your age by showing either two primary documents or one primary and one secondary document. Primary documents include a birth certificate, United States passport, military ID or INS documents; secondary documents include a photo ID from work or school, a health insurance card, tax return or marriage license. You will also need to have a valid Social Security number.
Go to your local Revenue Office. These offices are located all over the state; the Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration website has a complete list of locations, including their addresses and phone numbers (see Resources). Revenue Offices are generally open on weekdays during normal business hours, but some smaller locations may only be open one or two days per week. Call ahead to find out your local office's operating hours.
Present your two forms of ID to the clerk at the Revenue Office. In addition to providing these documents, you will also need to pay a fee for your ID card, which is $5 as of March 2011.
Renew your ID card before its expiration date so that there won't be a lapse in its validity. A renewal can be completed at the same Revenue Office where you first obtained your ID card; as of March 2011, an Arkansas ID card renewal costs $5.
Tips & Warnings
- If you bring a birth certificate as proof of identity, and your current name is different from the name that is listed on it, you will also need to show a document such as a marriage certificate or a court order for your name change.
- Photo Credit Stockbyte/Stockbyte/Getty Images
How Do I Get a Connecticut State Tax ID Number?
The Connecticut Department of Revenue Services has the responsibility of issuing a state tax ID number to new businesses. According to the...
How to Obtain Arkansas Car Tags
Arkansas law states that within 30 days of the transfer of title or lien release, the owner must apply for title and...
How to Apply for a Tax ID Number in Arkansas
Tax identification numbers are required to file taxes to the Internal Revenue Service (IRS). Tax identification numbers are issued to an individual...