How Do I Become a Phlebotomist in Texas?

Phlebotomists draw blood from donors for various purposes.
Phlebotomists draw blood from donors for various purposes. (Image: Keith Brofsky/Digital Vision/Getty Images)

Phlebotomists are certified health professionals who specialize in drawing blood from patients and donors for research, testing, donations and transfusions. Phlebotomists must complete specialized training from an accredited post-secondary institution. They earned an average annual salary in Texas between $21,988 and $31,769 as of December 2010, according to PayScale Inc. Those wanting to train to be phlebotomists in Texas can do so through established colleges or through online training programs.

Complete your high school education. You will need to have your high school diploma or GED to get accepted into a training program that will train you to become a phlebotomist. If you have yet to complete this requirement and have the opportunity, take additional courses in biology or even anatomy and physiology.

Research phlebotomy schools and apply for admission. Things to consider when choosing a program include the length, cost and curriculum of the program. You should also check program accreditation. Programs accredited by an agency recognized by the U.S. Department of Education are considered credible. Central Texas College in Killeen, Texas, is one possible choice for training. for-profit Kaplan College in San Antonio also offers a program. PCI Health Training Center in Dallas provides a third opportunity for training.

Complete your coursework. Training programs can vary in terms of length. Allied Health World notes that training programs can require anywhere from 100 to 400 hours of classroom instruction in basic biological science, human physiology and anatomy, laboratory procedures and practice in drawing blood.

Gain hands-on experience through clinical rotations as required by your program. For example, Central Texas College requires you to complete a full six weeks of clinical rotations.

Obtain certification by passing a national certification exam. You can take this exam through any number of different certification organizations such as the National Phlebotomy Association, the National Healthcareer Association, National Center for Competency Testing, American Medical Technologists and the American Certification Agency for Healthcare Professionals.

Related Searches


Promoted By Zergnet


Related Searches

Check It Out

Are You Really Getting A Deal From Discount Stores?

Is DIY in your DNA? Become part of our maker community.
Submit Your Work!