How to Expunge an FDLE Record

  • Print this article

Florida's Department of Law Enforcement (FDLE) allows people with criminal records to apply to have their records expunged or sealed. The applicants must meet certain requirements. The case must have reached a conclusion. This includes people who have served time, were given probation or who completed pretrial diversion programs. Suitable applicants will have to decide if they want their records expunged or sealed. An expunged record is completely cleared. A sealed record is not accessible to the general public conducting background checks.

Instructions

    • 1

      Pick up an application for a Certificate of Eligibility from the criminal division of any Florida county courthouse. Sign the application in the presence of a notary.

    • 2

      Complete section A of the application.

    • 3

      Get fingerprinted on the form included with the application. This must be done by police or other criminal justice state agency.

    • 4

      Provide a certified disposition of the case. This can be obtained from the Clerk of Court in the county where you were charged. If you completed a pretrial Intervention or other diversion program, obtain a certified letter of completion from the State Attorney's office. Also bring a certified copy of the Termination of Probation if you were on probation at any point.

    • 5

      Purchase a money order made payable to FDLE. As of November 2010, the amount due is $75.

    • 6

      Request the State Attorney to complete section B of your application.

    • 7

      File a petition to have the arrest/conviction expunged in the court where the arrest occurred after you receive your Certificate of Eligibility.

Tips & Warnings

  • The usual processing time for an application is 30 days.

  • You may only have one arrest expunged from your record.

Related Searches

References

Comments

You May Also Like

Related Ads

Featured
View Mobile Site