How to Restore Utorrent

If you are experiencing download problems or difficulties in uTorrent, restoring the default settings in the program can usually help. Changes to the default preferences in uTorrent can help increase download speeds and allow you to have greater control over the program. However, changing some settings may actually cause more problems than they fix. Restoring the settings in uTorrent will remove any customized download and bandwidth preferences and give you a chance to correct or tweak problematic settings.

Instructions

    • 1

      Close the uTorrent program by clicking on the "File" menu and then clicking the "Exit" option. (Note: Clicking the "X" button in the upper-right corner of the screen only minimizes uTorrent. It does not close the program.)

    • 2

      Double-click "Computer" or "My Computer" on the Windows desktop and click on the "C" drive icon when the new window opens.

    • 3

      Double-click the "Users" folder in the right pane to open it. After the "Users" folder window opens, double-click on your user account folder to view its contents.

    • 4

      Double-click the "AppData" folder, and then double-click the "Roaming" folder.

    • 5

      Use the down-arrow key to navigate to the uTorrent folder. Double-click the folder to open it.

    • 6

      Locate the "settings.dat" file in the uTorrent folder. Right-click the file and click the "Delete" option.

    • 7

      Restart the uTorrent client application. After you restart the program, uTorrent recreates the default preferences and settings for the application. The customized settings are no longer active.

Related Searches

References

  • Photo Credit download image by michanolimit from Fotolia.com

You May Also Like

Related Searches
Check It Out

Geek Vs Geek: The Best Tech of 2014