Arkansas law states that within 30 days of the transfer of title or lien release, the owner must apply for title and registration. New residents are also required to have their vehicles registered and titled in the state of Arkansas within 30 days of becoming a resident. Registrations must be renewed every 12 months. Failure to comply can result in fines and penalties.
First Time Registrations
Gather your paperwork. You will need proof of liability insurance, provided by your insurance company. A title is required for registration, but you can title and register the car at the same time. If you are a new resident, you will also need your registration from your former state.
Visit your County Assessor's Office to obtain proof that the vehicle has been assessed and that property taxes have been paid on it.
Complete a Vehicle Registration Application, available online at the State of Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration's website. This is a one-page form that asks for the details on the vehicle, such as the make, model, year and color. You will also need to complete the VIN, or Vehicle Identification Number, which can be found on your paperwork or on the dashboard of the vehicle. The form also asks for the odometer reading and the names and addresses of the owners.
Go to the State Revenue Office in your area to title and register your car. You can find a list of revenue offices at the Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration's website.
Renew your registration in person at the nearest State Revenue Office. You will need to take your tax assessment, renewal notice or current registration and proof of insurance.
Renew by mail with your renewal notice. Enclose copies of your assessment notice and proof of insurance. Enclose a check or money order for the amount shown on your renewal notice and mail to:
Department of Finance and Administration
Office of Motor Vehicles
P.O. Box 3153
Little Rock, AR 72203-3153
Renew by telephone by calling 888-389-8336. Enter the information from your renewal notice when prompted. Pay over the phone with your credit or debit card.
Renew online at the state's Streamline Auto Renewal website. You will need to enter the information from your renewal notice, such as the VIN, title number, and vehicle class. You can pay by credit card, debit card or electronic bank draft.
Tips & Warnings
- Make sure that all owners sign the application for title and registration if there is more than one name to be listed.
- If you purchased a vehicle from a dealership, check with them to see if they handled the title and registration for you.
- Arkansas maintains records of assessments and insurance verification on computer. If this information is outdated or absent, you must renew in person.
- Photo Credit Luxury Car sportscar from my luxury car series image by alma_sacra from Fotolia.com
How to Register a Business Name in Arkansas
There are many important elements in starting your own business. These factors vary depending on what kind of business you are operating....
How to Register a Car Without the Title
If the owner of a vehicle does not have the certificate of title, registering the the car will require some extra work.
How to Get Car Tags in Georgia
If you're moving to or buying a new car in Georgia, you'll have to obtain a new set of Georgia license plate...
How to Get a New Car Tag
Buying a vehicle creates excitement, but also comes with a lot of responsibility. Once you purchase either a new or used car,...
What Papers Do I Need to Renew My Car Tags?
Every year, a vehicle's tags must be renewed. All vehicles are required to be registered with your local Department of Motor Vehicles....