How to Delete My Accounts

Save

When you no longer need or want an Internet service, email account or other account, you can close and delete the account to prevent others from hacking into and accessing the service or account. Each account contains a set of procedures for disabling and deleting the account so you won't be billed or sent inquires about the account. Once deleted, you won't have access to the account, but you may have the option to reopen the account in the future, if desired.

Things You'll Need

  • Pen
  • Paper
  • Printer

Deleting Non-Electronic Accounts

  • Contact the company's customer service department to speak with a customer service representative about your account.

  • Tell the customer service representative you would like to close your account. Give him your name, account number and any other information he requests. The representative will process your request and give you a confirmation number and a scheduled date/time your account will be deleted.

  • Write down the confirmation number, scheduled date/time of the account closing and any other information the customer service representative gives you.

  • Store the piece of paper in a safe place for future reference in case a problem arises.

  • Repeat steps for each account you want to delete.

Deleting Electronic Accounts

  • Open your computer's Internet browser. Navigate to the website for the electronic account you want to close and delete.

  • Enter your user name and password to log in to your account. Click “Sign In” or a similar button. Click on “My Account,” “My Products,” “Settings” or similarly worded link to access specific information about your account.

  • Click on the link related to deleting/closing your account. Follow the on-screen prompts to delete your account.

    If prompted to contact the account's customer service department, call the number provided and speak with a representative to complete the account deletion process.

  • Click “File,” “Print,” “OK” to print the account deletion confirmation page, or write down the confirmation number on a piece of paper.

    Store the piece of paper in a safe place for future reference in case a problem arises.

  • Repeat the steps for each account you want to delete.

References

  • Photo Credit man with laptop and phone image by GeoM from Fotolia.com
Promoted By Zergnet

Comments

You May Also Like

  • How to Delete an IMVU Account

    IMVU, an avatar-based virtual world and social networking site, has competitors such as Second Life, Habbo and Nurien, according to VentureBeat. When...

  • How to Delete My Yahoo Account Right Now

    Deleting your Yahoo! account removes all your data and settings from the entire Yahoo! network. In addition to losing your email account,...

  • How to Delete an Account on Nimbuzz

    Nimbuzz is a free messaging and calling application you can download to your smartphone. You can call, chat and text, and you...

  • How to Delete My Blizzard Account

    There is no official way to delete your Blizzard account. Blizzard keeps account, game and character information permanently so that players who...

  • How to Remove a Craigslist Account

    If you haven’t yet signed up for a Craigslist account, consider resisting. Although holding a free or paid account allows you to...

  • How to Delete My Rocketmail Account

    When you delete your Rocketmail account, you instantly lose access to your emails and any other services associated with your account. Rocketmail...

Related Searches

Check It Out

Are You Really Getting A Deal From Discount Stores?

M
Is DIY in your DNA? Become part of our maker community.
Submit Your Work!