How to Become a Private Investigator in Nevada

Save

As professionals related to the law enforcement field, private investigators need to be licensed by the Private Investigators Licensing Board of Nevada. The requirements can be steep, to prevent applicants without proper credentials or skills attaining a position that implies a high degree of skill and professionalism.

Things You'll Need

  • Passport-quality photograph
  • Child support form
  • Three years of tax returns
  • Birth certificate or passport
  • A minimum of $901.25 in cashier's checks or money orders
  • Six notarized certificates of recommendation
  • Articles and Certificates of Incorporation (if required)
  • Fill out, sign and notarize an application form.

  • Provide a passport-quality photograph, child support information form, birth certificate or passport, and three years of tax returns with W2s, K1s or 1099s. If requesting credit for a Bachelor's or Associate's Degree in Police Science or Criminal Justice, copies of the degree and transcripts should be included as well.

  • Submit Articles of Incorporation, Certificate of Incorporation and Certificate of Good Standing from the state you are incorporated in, as well as a list of corporate officers and directors if you are requesting a license as a corporation. If incorporated in a state other than Nevada, also provide a Certificate of Qualification to do business in Nevada as a foreign corporation from the Nevada Secretary of State.

  • Provide two fingerprint cards for the Nevada Highway Patrol (NHP), along with a cashier's check or money order for $51.25. In addition, if you have ever lived in or visited the state of California, a single fingerprint card and cashier's check or money order for $32 must be submitted to the California Department of Justice (CDOJ).

  • Provide notarized certificates of recommendation. The licensing board requires six total: three Certificates in Support of Experience and Qualifications from former employers or clients who can attest to the applicants experience, and three Certificates in Support of Personal References. As with any personal references, prestigious or professional references are respected more than family or friends.

  • Give a cashier's check or money order for $750 for the first category of license, plus $250 for each additional category. The categories are: canine handler, polygraph examiner, private investigator, private patrolman, process server, and repossessor.

  • Pass the Nevada State Board Examination. This test focuses on the Nevada Revised Statutes and Regulations, and is administered quarterly in Las Vegas and Carson City. The fee for the test is $100, and must be included with the other materials as a cashier's check or money order.

  • Pass the canine handler test, if attempting to become certified as a private canine handler. This separate test needs to be administered by a law enforcement agency, and requires an applicant to show he can safely handle his dog. Applicants must provide an additional $100 cashier's check or money order.

References

Promoted By Zergnet

Comments

Resources

You May Also Like

Related Searches

Check It Out

3 Day-to-Night Outfits for the Work Week

M
Is DIY in your DNA? Become part of our maker community.
Submit Your Work!