How to Qualify for the Players Championship


The Players Championship is one of the most prestigious events in golf. Only 156 of the world's top golfers are invited to play. In 2009, the winner received $1.7 million out of a $9.5 million purse. Players Championship winners also are granted invitations to that year's U.S. Open and PGA Championship, three-year invitations to the Masters and British Open and a five-year exemption from qualifying for the PGA Tour. Qualifying criteria, set by the Professional Golfers' Association, adjust yearly. This set of qualifications is for the 2010 championship.

  • Win a PGA Tour event through the final week before the 2010 PGA Championship.

  • Win the 2009 Masters.

  • Win the 2010 Senior PGA Championship.

  • Win the 2009 U.S. Open.

  • Finish in the top 20 of the 2009 PGA Championship.

  • Win the 2009 British Open.

  • Place in the top 70 of the special money list on the PGA Tour from 2009 WGC-Bridgestone through 2010 Greenbrier Classic.

  • Be ranked in the top 100 world rankings on Aug. 2.

Tips & Warnings

  • If there are fewer than 156 players based on the above qualification, the PGA allows players "beyond top 70 from special money list will gain entry in order of position."

Related Searches


  • Photo Credit Images
Promoted By Zergnet



You May Also Like

Related Searches

Check It Out

10 Delicious Game Day Eats That Rival the Game

Is DIY in your DNA? Become part of our maker community.
Submit Your Work!