How to Remove the User Name in Remote Desktop Connection

Save

When the Remote Desktop application is launched, it automatically displays the address of the computer you last connected to along with the user name that was used. However, you may need a way to remove and change the user name if the remote computer is one that other people also need to connect to. Remove the user name from a Remote Desktop connection if it is not the only user name used for the remote computer.

  • Launch Remote Desktop. Confirm that the remote connection shown in the "Computer" drop-down menu is the one that you would like to change.

  • Click the "Options" button.

  • Click in the "User name" box and use the "Backspace" key to delete any text that is there. You will be prompted to enter a new user name upon connecting to the remote computer.

Tips & Warnings

  • If the same user name is always used when connecting to a remote computer, consider placing a check in the "Allow me to save credentials" box after clicking the "Options" button as described above. This prevents the user name from being requested when the remote connection is initiated.

References

  • Photo Credit Pixland/Pixland/Getty Images
Promoted By Zergnet

Comments

You May Also Like

  • How to Use Remote Desktop

    If you've ever come home from work only to realize an important item was forgotten when leaving the office, you know how...

Related Searches

Check It Out

Geek Vs Geek: Robot battles, hoverboard drag race, and more

M
Is DIY in your DNA? Become part of our maker community.
Submit Your Work!