How to Unsync an iPod

Save

The iPod is a popular electronic device that stores music, video, images and more. In its default factory settings, the iPod is set to automatically sync with an iTunes library upon being connected to a computer. Unsyncing the iPod will allow you to connect to another computer without having to sync with that particular computer's iTunes library.

  • Connect the iPod to the computer with the provided USB cable.

  • Open iTunes. iTunes may automatically open once you connect the iPod to your computer. If it does not, then open iTunes manually.

  • Choose "cancel" when the alert box appears. An alert box reading "The iPod is synced with another iTunes library. Do you want to erase this iPod and sync with this iTunes library?" will appear. Choosing "Cancel" will allow you to set the iPod to "Manual Synchronization."

  • Set the iPod to "Manual Synchronization." Select the iPod in the source panel in the left side of iTunes. Choose the "Summary" tab and then the "Manually Manage Music and Videos" option. Click "OK" and then "Apply." The iPod is now no longer automatically synced to the computer library.

References

  • Photo Credit Jupiterimages/Brand X Pictures/Getty Images
Promoted By Zergnet

Comments

You May Also Like

Related Searches

Check It Out

Geek Vs Geek: Robot battles, hoverboard drag race, and more

M
Is DIY in your DNA? Become part of our maker community.
Submit Your Work!