How to Delete History in Outlook

Save

Each time you address and send an email in Microsoft Outlook, the application stores the contact's email address in a history cache. Afterward, when you begin to address a new message, Outlook uses the cache to automatically complete, or autocomplete, the heading with the previously used address from your history. However, if you do not want Outlook to autocomplete email addresses, you can delete the program's history file.

  • Quit Microsoft Outlook and make sure it is no longer running.

  • Open the Start menu and click on the \"My Computer\" icon.

  • Navigate to the \"C:\Documents and Settings\name\Application Data\Microsoft\Outlook\" directory, replacing \"name\" in this example with your Windows username.

  • Locate the file called \"Outlook.nk2\" and highlight it. This is the file that stores the Outlook history cache.

  • Move the \"Outlook.nk2\" file to the Recycle Bin and then empty the bin to delete the file.

  • Restart Outlook. The program will automatically create a new blank history file.

References

  • Photo Credit Pixland/Pixland/Getty Images
Promoted By Zergnet

Comments

You May Also Like

Related Searches

Check It Out

Geek Vs Geek: Robot battles, hoverboard drag race, and more

M
Is DIY in your DNA? Become part of our maker community.
Submit Your Work!