Renting out your real estate means a steady, monthly income for as long as someone is living on your property. But tenants can be unpredictable, and often breach serious agreements in their leasing contracts. When a landlord comes to the conclusion that eviction is necessary, he or she must comply with laws that require specific procedures before the tenant can be ordered to vacate the property.
Things You'll Need
- Eviction complaint form
- Copies of eviction notices
- Filing fees and other court costs
Serve the tenant with an eviction notice. A 5-day eviction notice generally evicts a tenant for not paying rent and a 30-day notice is served to tenants with month-to-month leases. For any other breaches in a leasing agreement, a tenant is served with a 10-day notice to vacate the premises.
If the tenant has not complied with the eviction notice, go to your local court clerk's office and fill out an eviction complaint form.
Present a filled-out copy of the eviction complaint form and the original copy of the tenant's eviction notice to your local clerk of courts.
Pay any court filing fees and service cost to your local clerk of courts and your eviction notice will be filed. The court clerk will schedule a court date, which is usually 18-21 days after you have filled out the eviction complaint form.
Eviction Enforcement in Oklahoma
The eviction process might seem like a complicated process, but it's simple when broken down into each part of the procedure. A...
How to Evict Someone in Tennessee
Tennessee law establishes specific procedure a landlord must follow to lawfully evict a tenant. Tennessee law includes directions on the type of...
What Happens When a 30-Day Eviction Notice Is Up?
A landlord can't simply show up and tell a tenant that he's being evicted. Instead the landlord gives a tenant an eviction...
Eviction Process in Alabama
In Alabama, a landlord can evict a tenant for breaking the lease, not paying rent or because the lease has expired. The...