Florida’s 2-20 license is required for insurance agents or representatives who sell general lines of coverage, from homes and vehicles to pets. To be eligible for a 2-20 license, candidates must be U.S. citizens or legal aliens with a work authorization from the U.S. Immigration and Naturalization Services. They must also be Florida residents and at least 18 years old. Coursework, experience or a combination is also required, along with a state exam and fingerprinting.
Take the Classes
There are several routes to completing the necessary prerequisites for a 2-20 license, such as finishing 15 college semester hours in classes related to casualty and property insurance. Other candidates are eligible after taking or teaching a 200-hour class on the topic. Those who complete 200 hours of a similar course that includes online portions are required to have at least six months of experience in the casualty and property field. Some experience qualifies candidates to take shorter courses. For example, customer representatives with at least one year of experience only need to complete a 40-hour class.
Gain Some Experience
In some instances, candidates may not be required to take any courses. According to the website of Florida’s Chief Financial Officer, candidates qualify for the licensing exam if they have at least one year of experience performing insurance-related duties in all areas of casualty and property insurance. Additionally, people who relocate to Florida and hold an equivalent license from another state may be able to skip the coursework, but they only have 90 days to apply from the time they become a Florida resident.
Pass the Exam
The Florida Insurance Licensing Candidate Handbook notes that before applying for the 2-20 license, candidates must reserve a spot for the exam online by visiting the Pearson Vue website at pearsonvue.com/fl/insurance. As of 2014, they must also pay a $42 exam fee. Candidates must score at least 70 percent on the exam to pass. As of January 2014, the agent’s general lines insurance exam consisted of 150 questions on topics such as policy provisions, contract law, insurance terms and casualty policy provisions.
Apply for Licensing
Candidates for Florida’s 2-20 license are required to submit proof of their prerequisites and pay a $50 application fee to the Department of Financial Services as of 2014. After taking the exam, candidates must be fingerprinted and pay the associated $50.30 fingerprinting fee. Those who successfully complete the process receive an email from the department, but candidates can also check their application status at any time via the department’s MyProfile website. MyProfile also stores the 2-20 license so successful candidates can log on and print their copies.
- Florida's Chief Financial Officer Division of Insurance Agent and Agency Services: Resident General Lines License
- Pearson Vue: Florida Insurance Licensing Candidate Handbook
- Florida's Chief Financial Officer Division of Insurance Agent and Agency Services: Payment Methods & Fees
- Florida's Chief Financial Officer Division of Insurance Agent and Agency Services: Fingerprinting Information
- Photo Credit Sneksy/iStock/Getty Images
How to Become an Insurance Broker in Florida
How to Become an Insurance Agent With a 220 License; ... How to Become a Licensed Insurance Agent in Florida. The requirements...
What Is a Florida 440 Insurance License?
What Is a Florida 440 Insurance License?. Insurance agents, ... you must complete the courses and examination required for the 2-20 license....
How to Become a Licensed Insurance Agent in Florida
How to Become a Licensed Insurance Agent in Florida. The requirements for becoming a licensed insurance agent ... How to Become an...
How to Get a 440 Insurance License in Florida Online
How to Get a Florida 220 Insurance License; How to Get a Florida 440 License; Comments You May Also Like. How to...
How to Get a Title Insurance License in Florida
How to Get a 440 Insurance License in Florida Online; Print this article; Things You'll Need. Online application; Fees; ... How to...
How to Get a Florida Adjuster License
How to Get a Florida Adjuster License. ... How to Get a Florida 220 License. Featured. 6 Ways to Travel on the...