General contractor licenses are not a requirement for building or remodeling projects in the state of Texas. Specialty contractor licenses, however, are a different story. To complete specialized work in Texas, you must submit an application and pass a test related to your field to get a license.
You must complete the Electrical Contractor License Application to get your Master Electrician's license. As a Master Electrician, you must prove you have 12,000 hours of job training and pass the Master Electrician examination; if you own an electrical contracting business that employs a Master Electrician, you must show proof of workers' compensation insurance coverage for that employee, according to the Contractor's License Reference. Master electrician fees for new and renewal licenses are $45 to $50, according to the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation.
Air Condition, Heating and Refrigeration
Two types of licenses exist for HVAC contractors, according to the Texas State Board of Licensing and Registration. The Class A license allows you to work with any size HVAC equipment, while the Class B license limits you to 25 tons of cooling equipment and 1.5 million BTU of heating equipment. You must complete the Air Conditioning and Refrigeration Contractor License Application. To qualify, you need at least four years of recent experience in the field or on-the-job training. You also may qualify with a combination of education and experience as long as you have a certificate or a two- or four-year degree in air conditioning or refrigeration engineering along with real world experience. The exam covers topics such as refrigeration components, HVAC systems, piping testing, venting and principles of refrigeration, according to the Contractor's License Reference. You must submit a fee of $125 with your application.
Fire Sprinkler Systems
Three types of certificates are available for obtaining your fire sprinkler contractor license. You can apply for a general, one- or two-family home, general inspector or underground system license, according to the Texas Department of Insurance. Plan to take the State Fire Marshall's test by registering online at PSI Exams Online. The test covers Texas Insurance Code 6003 and Fire Sprinkler rules. One more condition applies –– you must be registered to work as a responsible managing employee at a company that provides fire sprinkler system services and show proof of insurance for bodily injury and property damage. License fees vary from $50 to $200 depending on the type of license you need, according to the Texas Department of Insurance.
Obtaining a plumbing license first requires taking the Master Plumber's test. The test covers topics such as plumbing codes, OSHA standards, and LP gas piping installation. Then you can apply for your Master Plumber's license by filling out the application required by the Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners. A fee of $175 is required with the application. You also need to fill out a Certificate of Insurance to prove you have coverage on all types of plumbing, including LP gas, medical gas and multi-purpose residential fire protection sprinkler plumbing, according to the Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners.
Well Drilling and Pump Installation
To obtain your Water Well Driller or Pump Installer license, you must complete the application provided by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation. You can apply for both licenses and submit a fee of $325 with your completed application. You must have a minimum of two years' experience in water well drilling and pump installation to apply for both and describe how many times you've drilled each type of well or installed each pump type. For example, you must have installed at least 15 water wells and installed a minimum of 15 single phase pump installations to qualify, according to TDLR. Go to PSI to sign up to take the Well Driller's and Pump Installer's tests.