Review your lease. Either you have a yearly lease or a month-to-month lease. Most leases specify that you must give notice of intent to move at least 30 days ahead of time. If this notice is less than that, then expect to pay another month's rent because the court will hold you accountable.
Most likely you are not going to rent the same apartment your whole life. You may need to move to find a place with more bedrooms due to an increase in your family or you may need to find a cheaper place due to a job cut. Either way it is important that you prepare an intent-to-move notice and give it you your landlord as soon as you know that you are going to move. This gives the landlord adequate time to find a replacement tenant for when you leave.
Things You'll Need
- Intent-to-move form
- Moving details
Purchase an intent-to-move form (see resources) or make your own. Include your name, address, the date and the address you intend to move from.
Quote the part of your lease that states you must give 30 days written notice and then go on to say that you are complying with this.
Include your intent to clean the apartment or house and ask that the landlord send any specific cleaning instructions he or she may have so that you are both in agreement. This will help to ensure you get your security deposit back.
List the date that you plan on moving out and turning in your set of keys.
Create a paragraph asking for an inspection date of the premises so that you can get your security deposit back faster. State whether you want to be present for the inspection. Leave an address for the security deposit to be sent once the landlord completes his inspection.
Sign and date the intent to move notice.
Make a copy of this agreement for your records and then mail or hand the letter to your landlord. If you mail the letter you will want to get delivery confirmation for your records.
Tips & Warnings
- Make sure the landlord receives the notice at least 30 days prior to moving out, not 30 days from the time you created the letter.
- If you have a year lease and it has only been six months, you cannot give a notice of intent to move without paying the other six months of rent.
- Photo Credit umjanedoan
How to Write a Letter to Tell a Tenant to Move Out
How to Write a Letter to Tell a Tenant to Move Out. ... the landlord should write a letter that becomes a...
How to Give Notice When You're Moving Out of an Apartment
You've been renting an apartment and now it's time to move. In some places, you can just tell the building manager that...
How to Write a 60 Day Notice to a Landlord
U.S. Legal Forms: Lease Termination Forms (by state) ... How to Write a Letter of Notice for Moving out With Less Than...
How to Write a Renter 30 Day Notice Letter
How to Write a Renter 30 Day Notice Letter. You're moving! ... Many leases stipulate that you must give 30 days' notice...
How to Write a Move Out Notice
As a renter, there is an unfortunate necessity to protect yourself legally from undue charges from landlords and property managers. One sneaky...
How to Write a Letter of Intent to Move
How to Write an Intent to Vacate Letter. Moving out of your apartment can sometimes be a hassle, ... How to Give...
How Long Does a Landlord Legally Have to Give You to Move?
How Long Does a Landlord Legally Have to Give You to Move?. ... How Much Notice Do I Have to Give My...
California Laws for Tenants Giving Notice to Vacate
California landlord and tenant laws require landlords to give their tenants a notice period before going to court to request an eviction....
Can You Take Back a Notice of Moving Out of an Apartment?
By law, you usually have to give notice to your landlord or property manager when you want to terminate your tenancy at...
How Long After an Eviction Before I Have to Move?
How Long Do You Have to Move After an Eviction Notice? ... tenants often have a little time before the sheriff arrives...
Can My Landlord Kick Me Out Without an Eviction Notice?
Before forcing you to move out of your rental property, your landlord has to follow certain restrictions as specified by state laws....