To close your Yahoo Messenger account, you must close your entire Yahoo account. All your messages, emails, folders and contacts are deleted when you close the account. Furthermore, your Flickr account is also closed automatically with the Yahoo account. The data is permanently deleted so back up everything, including your contacts, in case you need it later. Even if you recover the account, you may be unable to recover some of the data.
Terminating Your Yahoo Account
To close the Yahoo account, you must know its password. If you don't know the password, use the "Yahoo Password Helper" wizard to recover it. Open the "Terminating your Yahoo account" page and enter the password to confirm your identity. Type the CAPTCHA code into the field and then click the "Terminate this Account" button to confirm. Your account is deactivated immediately; it will be deleted in approximately 90 days. Deleting the account terminates all your premium Yahoo services and others may sign up for your Yahoo ID. You may be able to reactivate it if you sign in and click the "Reactivate" button. However, you may lose some, or all, of your data.
How to Close and Permanently Delete a Yahoo Account
When you no longer need your Yahoo account, delete it so you will stop receiving Yahoo email. Your personal information will be...
How to Delete Yahoo Messenger
Yahoo Messenger comes with a slew of extra browser toolbars and add-ons that are difficult to delete. You cannot delete them simply...
How to Delete Instant Message History
Many instant message programs are set, by default, to save your chat history. This might not be a desirable feature for people...
How to Delete My Yahoo Account Right Now
Deleting your Yahoo! account removes all your data and settings from the entire Yahoo! network. In addition to losing your email account,...