How to Become a North Carolina Bail Bondsman

Save

Becoming a bail bondsman in North Carolina poses fewer difficulties than in many other states. While the Department of Insurance regulates the bail bonds industry, one layer of government you will not have to navigate is at the local level. Once you have met the requirements of North Carolina law, you are well on your way to servicing the needs of a clientele financially for a brief period of freedom between court appearances.

  • Submit a set a fingerprints and fingerprint processing fee. You can contact your local police department to set up an appointment for fingerprinting.

  • Submit a background check with a passport sized photo of yourself, and the fee for processing. You must complete the background check, also performed by the local police station or sheriff's office. In order to complete the background check succcessfully, you will need to be clear of any major financial problems as well as any felonies.

  • Provide evidence of identity and proof of residency. You will need to be at least 18 years old, and a resident of North Carolina. You can provide this proof with a valid North Carolina driver's license, birth certificate and/or passport.

  • Complete the necessary number of training hours or have equivalent working experience in the bail bonds field. The number of necessary training hours and the required classes changes year by year, so check with the Department of Insurance for the most updated information.

  • Complete at least 3 hours of continuing education each year to keep your license active. The Department of Insurance lists available classes and class locations for continuing education for the current year.

  • In North Carolina, you are required to operate your business and practice as a bail bondsman from a business address under the supervision of a previously licensed bondsman for the first 12 full months of your licensure. Once you have completed this, you are able to move on to setting up your own office space and hiring your own employees.

Tips & Warnings

  • Network with your sheriff's office and court clerks. Recommendations from these entities can help boost your business.
  • Stay compliant with all the laws and continuing education requirements detailed by the state of North Carolina. Failing to do so can result in fines and disruption of your business.

Related Searches

Promoted By Zergnet

Comments

Resources

You May Also Like

Related Searches

Check It Out

3 Day-to-Night Outfits for the Work Week

M
Is DIY in your DNA? Become part of our maker community.
Submit Your Work!