How to Pick Lactose-Free Breads and Grains


It seems unfair that an indulgent morning doughnut will leave you doubled over with cramps and abdominal pain in the afternoon, and you are not alone. Lactose intolerance -- an inability to digest dairy sugar -- affects approximately 65 percent of the population, according to the Genetics Home Reference. Knowing what to look for in the bread and grains aisle will empower you to enjoy meals despite digestive issues.

Hidden Sugar

  • The nutrition facts label on the back of packaged bread and grains tells you exactly what is in the product. Sometimes, you'll see the word "lactose," but the sugar is often hidden in other dairy products, including whey, milk solids and dry milk powder. Other ingredients that may contain lactose include caseinates, nougat, milk byproducts, butter, curds, cheese and yogurt.

Packaged Vs. Unprocessed

  • Most packaged bread, crackers, rolls, muffins, biscuits, waffles and pancakes contain dairy. Some breads -- including bagels, French bread and Zwieback -- may be safe, but read the label carefully. Raw grains such as rice, oatmeal, cream of wheat and rice cereals are typically lactose-free. You might consider making your own bread using a dairy alternative such as almond milk.

Related Searches


  • Photo Credit mcfields/iStock/Getty Images
Promoted By Zergnet


You May Also Like

  • Foods That Contain Lactose

    For most people, consuming lactose, the sugar found in milk, causes no problems. But for as many as 50 million Americans, lactose...

  • How to Pick Lactose Free Vegetables

    Many adults and children suffer from lactose intolerance, which is the inability to break down a sugar called lactose, which is found...

Related Searches

Check It Out

This Is the Beauty Routine of a Yelp Sales Manager

Is DIY in your DNA? Become part of our maker community.
Submit Your Work!